Day 319 – Rebuke Trumps Flattery. Good!

Whoever rebukes a man will afterward find more favor
than he who flatters with his tongue. (Proverbs 28:23 ESV)

This is good to know.

I am far more a rebuker than a flatterer. Although I hope that I’ve learned over the years to hold back on the correction (until and if there’s a teachable moment) and move forward with the encouragement (10 atta boys for every negative piece of feedback).

I recently rebuked someone and felt badly about it. I hope that I soon find favor with this person – not to add brownie points to me – but to let me know that if there was any truth in what I said, it helped the person see their “stuff” and draw closer to God.

But I am pretty bad at pure flattery. I simply find it difficult to say that which isn’t true. Puts me in a sticky wicket sometimes as when someone asks about something I dislike, “What do you think of this ____?” How to be positive when my thoughts are anything but?!

A problem for another day!

Today’s Readings: Ezekiel 21:1-22:31, Psalm 126:1-6, Proverbs 28:23, Hebrews 10:19-39. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

Leave a Reply

