Day 314 – Need a New Heart?

Ezekiel prophecies the return of Israel to Jerusalem in today’s reading. But as with many prophecies, there are multiple fulfillments.

And this passage has an obviously fulfillment in the church.

I really like it:

…I will give them one heart, and a new spirit I will put within them. I will remove the heart of stone from their flesh and give them a heart of flesh, that they may walk in my statutes and keep my rules and obey them. And they shall be my people, and I will be their God.  (Ezekiel 11:19-20 ESV)

What a great description of the new birth and the new life that follows! Because of God’s grace, we have:

  • One heart (unity of believers)
  • A new Spirit (the Holy one!)
  • Living hearts which replace our stone, cold, dead ones
  • The supernatural ability to do God’s will (repeated 3 times as walk, keep, and obey)

And best of all, we are God’s people and He is our God!

Amen!

 

Today’s Readings: Ezekiel 11:1-12:28, Psalm 122:1-5, Proverbs 28:17-18, Hebrews 5:11-6:20. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

Leave a Reply

