Day 307 – The Gospel and Good Works

Today I got frustrated with so many balls in the air, not sure which to catch at any given time. Some All family members felt that frustration. Tonight, DH’s (Dear Husband, FYI) still-in-use catheter was dripping all over the place. Dripping solution that’s supposed to be inside his peritoneum cleaning his blood. Ugh. Fortunately, the still-healing (we can only hope) replacement catheter (located on the other side of belly) was drip-less.

While I was dealing with that – and chastising DH for straining himself earlier which didn’t help the situation –  a fight erupted in the hallway, “She hit me.” Sigh. Well, now they are all in bed. Ah.

So, what does today’s Scripture have to say about all of this??

Since I am now in the Gospel biz (in a ministry to share the Gospel with women), I thought it timely to share a great summary of that good news from Titus:

… when the goodness and loving kindness of God our Savior appeared, he saved us, not because of works done by us in righteousness, but according to his own mercy, by the washing of regeneration and renewal of the Holy Spirit, whom he poured out on us richly through Jesus Christ our Savior, so that being justified by his grace we might become heirs according to the hope of eternal life.  (Titus 3:4-7 ESV)

One of these days, I think I’ll take every passage in the NT that discusses God’s work on our behalf and see what they cumulatively say, what themes arise again and again.

One of these days.

Meantime, I like how in this rendition of the Gospel, Paul brings in the entire Trinity – God, Holy Spirit, and Jesus.

I like how clearly Paul states that our own works don’t save us, but that the Holy Spirit richly gives us a new, cleansed life.

And I like the fact that because Jesus took our sin’s penalty and gave us His righteousness (“justified” us), we stand to inherit an eternity with Jesus.

That pretty much sums it up.

So, how does the Gospel address my frustrating day? The Titus passage goes on to insist that those who believe this Gospel should devote themselves to good works.

I read my daily passages this morning but must have forgotten this one! Maybe if I had focused a bit more on the Gospel today, I might have been able to better rest in the depths of God’s saving “goodness and love” towards me – and I might have displayed a few more good works from my new, cleansed life.

Maybe tomorrow!

 

Today’s Readings: Lamentations 1:1-2:22, Psalm 119: 137-144, Proverbs 28:9-10, Titus 3:1-15. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

Leave a Reply

