Day 300 – Feeling Dried Up?

I went to visit DH in ICU tonight (at the odd visiting hours of 10:30 to 11:00) and he had been moved to a regular room. Which means he’ll likely return home tomorrow. They aren’t particularly concerned with his heart now, which is good. Back to dialysis today.

On the way to hospital, I realized I still had to write tonight’s post. DH told me not to worry about it, to give myself a break. But having gotten some renewed energy to finish the job, I will tarry on until December 31. And then turn into a pumpkin. Or something.

So, what’s new?

For I have become like a wineskin in the smoke,
yet I have not forgotten your statutes. (Psalm 119:83 ESV)

Here’s something shriveled!

That’s a new thought for me. I like how the NCV puts it: “like a wine bag going up in smoke.” What does THAT mean? Who burns wineskins anyway?

Here’s what the ESV Study Bible says: “An unused wineskin, hanging in the rafters, becomes shriveled by the smoke; this is an image of one’s vitality ‘drying up.'”

I’m not sure I’m dried up yet (though DH might feel a bit drained of vitality), but this Psalm evokes for me an image of a really worn out person leaning on God’s promises, having enough energy to remember that God’s rules are the best rules – that they impart spiritual life and health in the face of physical death and sickness.

That’s why this daily devotions blogging has so restored me: God’s Word renews smoky wineskins.

I’ll end tonight with this tremendous description of Jesus from 1 Timothy:

… our Lord Jesus Christ… the blessed and only Sovereign, the King of kings and Lord of lords, who alone has immortality, who dwells in unapproachable light, whom no one has ever seen or can see. To him be honor and eternal dominion. Amen. (1 Timothy 6:15-16 ESV)

Today’s Readings: Jeremiah 39:1 – 40:16, Psalm 119: 81-88, Proverbs 28:1, 1 Timothy 6:3-21 See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

Leave a Reply

