Day 299 – In Praise of Scripture

And I thought yesterday’s trip to the ER was fun!

Well, today, after DH’s successful surgery for a new catheter and super-vein, he coded. Apparently anesthesia and kidney failure don’t mix well – which led to a bit of breathing problem which then affected the heart. He’s now in ICU, out of the woods, and hopefully soon stable and home.

What’s up with that?

This occurred while I was on a very important Board meeting (via phone) with my new job.

Hm.

(The hospital didn’t inform me of the incident til an hour after the call ended – and during the call, we were discussing plans that will result in greater evangelical outreach – so what was up? Hm).

I do want to report that when I visited DH, he was unable to recall seeing the peaceful white lights or floating above his body while they worked on his heart.

I’m just glad he’s alive!

Did I mention that I could use a few calm days now?

So, what Scripture reading helped out today? I read them this AM and can’t rightly recall what I read, so let me take a look.

Oh, yes. Jeremiah was thrown into a well, pulled out, but then consigned to house arrest.

No way to treat a prophet, I tell you!

Timothy was advised by Paul to drink a little wine which would help with his stomach and frequent illnesses.

Perhaps timely advice for DH, too?

And what about the Proverbs? Here’s a bit of advice:

Be sure you know the condition of your flocks,
give careful attention to your herds. Proverbs 27:23 NIV

Remind me to pay attention to my animals.

Finally, Psalm 119 continues it’s praise of God’s Word.  I like this verse in particular:

May those who fear you rejoice when they see me,
for I have put my hope in your word. vs. 74 NIV

I like that those who are in awe of God rejoice when someone trusts God’s words found in Scripture. God- fearers know how amazingly important the Bible is…

Scripture not only gives life, but it’s pretty colorful, too!

Now, to bed and a much needed LONG night’s sleep…

Today’s Readings: Jeremiah 37:1 – 38:28, Psalm 119: 73-80, Proverbs 27:23-27, 1 Timothy 5:1-6:2 See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

2 thoughts on “Day 299 – In Praise of Scripture

  1. DH is in a regular room tonight and coming home tomorrow. Just returned from 3rd visit today and getting ready to write tonight’s blog. Once he’s home, it’s back to an hour a day or more helping with dialysis, not to mention all the other needs. And I can’t ignore the kids either. So it’s a lot to do and I need regular direction to do what’s right.

    Regarding priorities, it’s clear I have to put DH and DC (children) at the top, but what does the Bible say about how to balance everything when the job is a ministry calling with huge evangelistic impact? That’s a tough one considering the Great Commission. Look at the many NT evangelists who traveled with Paul and were likely away from family for months at a time. The founder of our ministry’s DH passed away and her sister raised their kids so she could expand its evangelistic impact. A dear friend was shipped off to boarding school every year so her parents could more effectively serve as missionaries. On the other hand, I know Billy Graham said in retrospect he’d have spent more time with family. I am fortunate that DH so encourages me in this calling. When I have considered backing out for family, he has pushed me forward.

  2. Reeeealllly not sure I should say this, though it won’t come as complete shock, but if he’s still in ICU and not a regular room, he’s not really out of the woods. As much as we may not want to hear it at certain times, our spouses are our first vocation. Please pardon me if I’m coming across as dismal (or obnoxious!) — I’m going on very little, really — but I would suggest you put everything aside for him for a little while. I’m keeping you two in prayer.

Leave a Reply

