Day 298 – Astray? Get Afflicted!

I was just talking writing about this yesterday:

Before I was afflicted I went astray,
but now I keep your word.

It is good for me that I was afflicted,
that I might learn your statutes.

(Psalm 119:67,  71 ESV)

Sure works for me, that affliction.

Though I might add: “While I was afflicted I went astray,” too!

Today we had a false alarm trip to the ER via ambulance. Fun, fun!

Let me tell you, sometime shortly after that particular affliction, I went astray –

I let loose on DH  – who hadn’t eaten all day despite my protestations – and whose state of hunger I believe led in part to the situation that in turn led to the ER.

But in general, afflictions eventually lead to me to see how I’ve strayed from God’s Word and Ways and help me to return.

Don’t you just LOVE those afflictions?

 

Today’s Readings: Jeremiah 33:1 – 36:32, Psalm 119: 65-72, Proverbs 27:22, 1 Timothy 4:1-16 See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

Leave a Reply

