Day 297 – Tested by Praise Lately?

Wow. It’s late. It’s been a long day. Typical of recent weeks, I feel like I am always running behind, under the pile. So this may be brief. As I read tonight, nothing really grabbed me. Til I decided to check into the Proverb a bit more:

The crucible is for silver, and the furnace is for gold,
and a man is tested by his praise.
(Proverbs 27:21 ESV)

Hm. What does that mean? I understand this version better:

The crucible is for silver, and the furnace is for gold,
and the LORD tests hearts.
(Proverbs 17:3 ESV)

I understand that God uses/plans difficulties to test our heart and mature us, but what is this in Proverbs 27 about being tested by praise?

I believe that our hearts are revealed to us through affliction. When we are in pain, we see our sins, both as we respond to pain (often through sin at first) and as pain strips away our veneers.

I think that our hearts are revealed to others in how we react to praise. It’s not as easy to see pride and self-centeredness in our response to praise – but it’s an opportunity to do so. We need good friends to point out if we have passed the test of humility in the face of praise.

I have received a lot of praise lately in the new job. I hope that I am responding in a God-glorifying way. One thing I know – I’ve made enough mistakes to keep myself from taking the praise too seriously. God has been good about that!

 

Today’s Readings: Jeremiah 33:1 – 34:22, Psalm 119: 57-64, Proverbs 27:21, 1 Timothy 3:1-16 See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

Leave a Reply

