Day 295 – I Sought Him and Found Him!

Back when I started this daily blogging thing, I set out to find the Lord. I decided to seek Him with all by abilities. He seemed distant. I wanted Him back. And this Scripture (from today’s reading) motivated my pursuit:

“For thus says the LORD: When seventy years are completed for Babylon, I will visit you, and I will fulfill to you my promise and bring you back to this place.

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you. You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart.

I will be found by you, declares the LORD, and I will restore your fortunes and gather you from all the nations and all the places where I have driven you, declares the LORD, and I will bring you back to the place from which I sent you into exile. (Jeremiah 29:10-14 ESV)

I love reading that “seek me and find me” sentence in context.

Pretty much all of Jeremiah so far is about Judah’s sin and God’s punishment. Judah is heading to Babylon because the nation has turned from God to idols – and the sin against God has worked its way out into major sin against people – injustice, sexual sin, even child sacrifice, and everything in between.

And yet…

God promises to bring His people back! He will restore His people.

But only after they have been chastened by their experience of exile and start to call on Him, pray to Him, and seek Him with all their heart.

Then He will be found by them.

After that, He will bring them back from exile. And restore their future.

And that’s exactly what happened to me: Exile, Humbling, Seeking, Finding, Restoration.

The dreams I had for my life were dreams for ME. God took me through Babylon and back so that my dreams were for HIM, to find HIM, to know HIM.

And then He fulfilled the dreams, now refocused on His glory, not mine.

Wow.

I am SO thankful for my exile. Jesus did hang up, but only for a season, so that I would seek Him and find Him.

Yay, God.

Amen.

 

Today’s Readings: Jeremiah 29:1 – 30:24, Psalm 119: 41-48, Proverbs 27:19, 2 Timothy 1:1-20 See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

2 thoughts on “Day 295 – I Sought Him and Found Him!

Leave a Reply

