Day 294 – The Lord of Peace

Now may the Lord of peace himself give you peace at all times in every way. The Lord be with you all. (2 Thessalonians 3:16 ESV)

Boy, did I need to hear that today. I decided no matter how much work I had to do, no matter what I had to do around the house or in the yard (with new seed in) or with the kids or for DH, I needed to take the day off.

So I took the kids horseback riding in the mountains, DH and dogs in tow (they stayed in the car – but it was the first real trip out for DH in 3 weeks – other than hospital or clinic). Then the family (sans dogs) went to get my favorite meal out at a restaurant (lobster!).

Unfortunately, I spent at least part of the day feeling anxious about all I have to do this week. I was a maniac shopping for food tonight (which DH normally does when he can walk). WHERE ARE THE CAPERS?!

At least at church I calmed down and focused. Still remember the sermon points!

If peace is to reign in my heart, I need to keep remembering, “I’ve got you covered.”

Worried about when I would find time to help DD practice violin each day (with out of town guests coming…) or how we would get her to the group violin lesson on Thursday, I suddenly remembered that I had said “Yes” to a two-day birthday extravaganza with a friend at the time of her lessons. So, oops, cancelled lessons.

But also, not so much worry about practicing.

Yep. God’s got me covered.

Who, me worry?

Yep. The Lord of peace can give me peace in every way.

If I only ask. And let him.

Lord: GIVE ME PEACE! Amen.

 

Today’s Readings: Jeremiah 27:1 – 28:17, Psalm 119: 23-40, Proverbs 27:18, 2 Thessalonians 3:1-18 See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

Leave a Reply

