Day 291 – Ode to the Night Owl

I love Psalm 119 – in praise of God’s Word.

And I love how Paul summarized the Gospel when he told the Thessalonians that “God has not destined us for wrath, but to obtain salvation through our Lord Jesus Christ, who died for us so that … we might live with him.” (1 Thessalonians 5:9-10 ESV)

Then there’s that injunction to the Thessalonians to “Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” (1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 ESV)

Good words.

Getting in the Word (a la Psalm 119) and prayer (1 Thessalonians 5:16) are staples of the “quiet time” or one’s daily “devotions.”

Speaking of that time with God, have you all had the same teaching I’ve had that it’s best to conduct one’s devotions in the AM? First thing? Before you get going? Maybe even before sunrise?

Yes, I’ll bet you have.

Which is why I LOVE LOVE LOVE today’s Proverb:

If anyone loudly blesses their neighbor early in the morning,
it will be taken as a curse. Proverbs 27:14 NIV

Do you hear that, you early risers?

Someone in the Bible was a night owl like me. The someone who wrote this Proverb.

I think this means that my dogs are cursed. These same dogs wake me each morning (after DD lets them out of the bathroom that’s doubles as their bedroom), not with a loud blessing exactly, but with the doggy equivalent – jumping on the bed, wriggling, licking, and otherwise stirring me slowly and with great reluctance to life.

And to coffee.

I am thinking that it’s ok to have my devotions at night. Like I do every night when I write this blog.

Although since my college days, I have struggled to get in the Bible and prayer first thing in order to start the day right, focused on God. Still struggling. Don’t always make it.

But, hey, I’m trying!

Just don’t bless me loudly anytime before noon.

Okay?

 

Today’s Readings: Jeremiah 21:1 – 22:30, Psalm 119: 9-16, Proverbs 27:14, 1 Thessalonians 5:1-28. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

One thought on “Day 291 – Ode to the Night Owl

Leave a Reply

