Day 289 – The Prophet’s Praise

Jeremiah’s pretty hard on Judah. And he has a hard time with his calling, too. With these prophets, I sometimes feel like I am reading the same stuff over and over.

But this particular verse stood out and encouraged me:

Heal me, O LORD, and I shall be healed;
save me, and I shall be saved,
for you are my praise.
(Jeremiah 17:14 ESV)

I like how the NCV puts the first part:

Lord, heal me, and I will truly be healed.
Save me, and I will truly be saved.

However, I think the rendering in ESV of the last phrase “YOU are my praise” is awesome. God isn’t just who we praise; he is our highest joy.

He IS our praise.

The only one who can ultimately heal us and save us is our praise!

Or is He?

Good thing to ponder.

 

 

Today’s Readings: Jeremiah 17:1 – 18:23, Psalm 118: 25-29, Proverbs 27:11-12, 1 Thessalonians 2:17-3:13 About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

Leave a Reply

