Day 284 – Becoming Who I Am

THANKS for your kind prayers. DH made it through the night on the peritoneal dialysis machine with nary a leak. I of course woke frequently to make sure things were OK  And they were! Yay!  Now for him to get up and walking again…

Wow. Read some pretty heavy stuff in Colossians tonight, including these verses:

and you have been filled in him, who is the head of all rule and authority. … And you, who were dead in your trespasses…, God made alive together with him, having forgiven us all our trespasses, by canceling the record of debt that stood against us with its legal demands. This he set aside, nailing it to the cross. (Colossians 2:10, 13-14 ESV)

Most evangelical Christians are (or should be) pretty aware of the legal transaction that took place at the cross: our sins were forgiven because Jesus paid their debt on the cross.

But what about those other phrases? Filled in Him? Alive together in Him?

What’s up with that?

I think I know and I don’t think we I live often enough in these truths.

I have the LIVING GOD within. He reigns over all of the powers and principalities – therefore I need fear not:  “He who is within me is greater than He who is in the world.” (1 John 4:4)

And the LIVING GOD gives me new life, a new nature. All that I need to live in obedience and fruitfulness now resides within.

I don’t have to try to be good. I have to repent and be me. The power of God rests in my new nature: Christ in me. It’s not a matter of working up obedience, but of being who I am.

The problem is that the remaining flesh gets in the way. My sin-trained flesh returns again and again to its habits and I yield, not to God, but to it.

People are fond of reducing this fact of “Christ in me” to a “let go and let God” formula. The problem is, we can’t just “let go.” We must repent and release what’s there – our new natures all Jesus is in us.

And that’s work.

That requires exercising the means of grace (Bible study, obedience, prayer, service, communion, worship, etc.) AND yielding to God’s honing work through our circumstances.

Yep. It’s work.

But it’s worth it.

It’s a good thing becoming who I am!

 

 

Today’s Readings: Jeremiah 7:1-8:22, Psalm 118:1-4, Proverbs 27:5-6, Colossians 2:6-23. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

Leave a Reply

