Day 280 – Something New Born from Pain

I was just praying with a friend from our ministry who’s family member wound up in the hospital at the same time DH was going down. Another ministry friend also had a major health issue in the family last week.

Coincidence? I think not! See my recent post that includes a nod to spiritual warfare.

But the difficult events that Satan and his minions plot to discourage or tempt us, God uses to sanctify us. Think of Job.

I said to my friend that growth (at least mine) often requires pain and that these circumstances we are going through will result in fruit. Of that I am sure.

Well, most of the time I’m sure. Sometimes, I forget and go off the deep end.

Anyway, one of today’s verses proved the point:

…I will not cause pain [labor] without allowing something new to be born,” says the Lord. Isaiah 66: 9b NCV

And God promises spiritual growth – with or without pain – in another of today’s verses:

…continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling, for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose. Philippians 2: 12b, 13 NIV

So even though I need to do my part – the spiritual disciplines, the obedience – He’s doing His part of working in me to change my will and my actions to align with His will.

And he’s using pain to do it. Good thing something new will be born from the pain.

I pray that for me, my friends, their families, and especially for DH.

Amen.

 

Today’s Readings: Isaiah 65:1-66:24, Psalm 116:1-4, Proverbs 26:28, Philippians 2:5-30. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

Leave a Reply

