Day 279 – To Live is Christ!!!

Recalling the Scripture that admonishes us not to worry about tomorrow, I had a rather uneventful day. No emotional swings. Just doing the job of dialysis “exchange” for DH every three hours.

And watching DD play soccer – today’s highlight! They lost (one member of her team even scored for the other team…!), but DD blocked a goal and made some other great plays. Proud Mama!

Onto today’s passages: Philippians has been my favorite book of the Bible since college. I’ll share my life verse when I get to it, but I LOVE Paul’s single-minded focus on Jesus and the Gospel. He loves Jesus above all things and therefore MUST share the Good News.

I find these verses so compelling as Paul writes about his hope of vindication in the Roman court (he sits under house imprisonment in Rome):

… it is my eager expectation and hope that I will not be at all ashamed, but that with full courage now as always Christ will be honored in my body, whether by life or by death. For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.

If I am to live in the flesh, that means fruitful labor for me. Yet which I shall choose I cannot tell. I am hard pressed between the two. My desire is to depart and be with Christ, for that is far better. But to remain in the flesh is more necessary on your account. Convinced of this, I know that I will remain and continue with you all, for your progress and joy in the faith…(Philippians 1:20-26 ESV)

Paul’s concern: that whether he lives or dies, he will do nothing to bring shame to the name of Christ. WOW! If only I could live like that. Something to aspire to!

Paul’s life: Christ! “To LIVE is Christ! To DIE is Gain (because I get more of Christ)!” Too often, I can fill in this blank with anything but Jesus: “To live is ________.”

Paul’s tough choice: Stay and serve you Philippians, helping you grow closer to Jesus. Or die and go to be with Jesus – which is absolutely the best! Oh, to long for heaven as Paul did, because He was going to see Jesus’ face!

Well, need to return to another round of dialysis exchange for DH now.

 

Today’s Readings: Isaiah 63:1-64:12, Psalm 115:14-18, Proverbs 26:27, Philippians 1:1-2:4. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

Leave a Reply

