Day 276 – Sounding Off and Musings

Today was lousy.

I went with my DH to assist as he was trained in at-home peritoneal dialysis, only to discover they were training ME -and will be for the next 5 days. Since DH can’t stand up due to low blood pressure related to the hemodialysis (what they did up til now), I have to do the at-home dialysis for him since it requires moving around and washing hands like 5 times each of the five times a day I have to do this procedure (which takes an hour each time).

Thank God that I only have to do this through the weekend, but I must be trained next week on the machine that will dialize him through the night. I only have to do that twice a day, not to mention running around and waiting on both husband and kids since he needs me and can’t help with them.

So I’ll be his primary caregiver til he can walk again OR we hire help.

I am not a happy camper. I did not write the story this way. The idea was that he’d be getting better and better and take care of himself and the kids…

What’s that about a new job I have to attend to?

Thanks for letting me vent.

I wish some Scripture jumped out to help with this, but not tonight. Instead, I got convicted by this one:

The words of a whisperer [gossip] are like delicious morsels;
they go down into the inner parts of the body.
(Proverbs 26:22 ESV)

Oh, so true! Why else do I occasionally sneak home People magazine?? Just the other day, I shared what a friend of mine has on her cell phone:

TRUE  KIND NECESSARY

I don’t think all talking about others is necessary bad. Sometimes it’s fun. It’s yummy. But these are good words that may curb the bad kind. I need to ask before I speak, “Is it True? Is it Kind? Is it Necessary?”

Here’s the other convicting Scripture:

Take no part in the unfruitful works of darkness, but instead expose them. For it is shameful even to speak of the things that they do in secret. (Ephesians 5:11-12 ESV)

When I read that particular passage, it leads me to wonder, “Do I watch stuff on TV or read books that violates this command?” I’ve heard discussion all around this point, but I still wonder.

When do we step over the line and by watching some of what we see are we somehow peering into “the things that they do in secret,” tacitly encouraging rather than exposing such behavior? In the past, this wasn’t such an issue with TV, but it’s getting more and more that way. Not to mention what’s on the Internet. And what’s it doing to our minds?

I may have to start being more vigilant and prayerful in this regard. Good thing I’ve had little to no time to worry about watching or reading what hurts lately!

 

Today’s Readings: Isaiah 57:1-58:14, Psalm 114:1-8, Proverbs 26:22, Ephesians 5:1-20. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

3 thoughts on “Day 276 – Sounding Off and Musings

  1. Good morning Longing for a Holiday..boy the title of your blog is especially appro for this post. I appreciate your trust, in that you feel free to vent and know it won’t go any further than here w/ me. Dang… sounds like you have your hands full. take good care of yourself. I would definitely be looking into some outside assistance w/ the day today medical care. You are a good wife! DM

Leave a Reply

