Day 273 – My Pre-Prepared Good Works

WOW! God did something amazing: He let me sleep almost 8.5 hours in a row without waking up. I have not done that in MONTHS!

How wonderful to wake up refreshed. I was so beat last night (as you can read here) and feel SO MUCH BETTER – despite the fact that DH is still in hospital and Docs not completely sure why he is so sick now…

Well, to today’s reading: from very early in my Christian walk, God encouraged me with this verse that popped up as I read:

For we are [God’s] workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them. Ephesians 2:1o ESV

The thought that God had a special plan and purpose for my life, MY LIFE! Wow, that encouraged me.

… As long as life was going well.

But when things got tough (the unemployment, horrible job, bad health), I wondered what good works God had in mind. Not exactly the plan I had hoped for, I’ll say…!

When I got discouraged, I’d remind myself that God’s good works might include just these few things:

  • Getting to know Jesus more intimately
  • Learning to love and serve my family better
  • Using my spiritual gifts in some way at church
  • Working “heartily” unto the Lord at whatever for-pay job I had

If that’s all I ever did, that would be fine (I preached to myself – though not always successfully). In fact, that’s more than many people have in the way of good works – those who don’t have a husband or kids or jobs or even a place to serve in the church.

And then – pow,zam – God broke into my life and brought into it some “good works” which were above and beyond all I could ever ask or imagine (God actually exceeded the Big Hairy Audacious Prayer that preceded my new job).

I have to tell you: I like these good works He prepared beforehand (in my new job). I do. I REALLY do!

And then I think about my friends who are still in such difficult circumstances, who must (like I did) wonder what’s up with the “good works prepared beforehand:”

  • Their marriages are on the rocks or submerged.
  • They have horrific health issues.
  • Their kids aren’t exactly spiritual giants.
  • They’re feeling far from God who was once so close.

I feel guilty that God showed up in such a big way for me. Why not for them?

As Jesus said to Peter when he inquired (more or less) if John was going to suffer, too: “John’s life is none of your business. You just follow me.” (John 21:22)

So, I will. But I will also pray for my friends.

If nothing more, I want Jesus to give them the one good work God plans for us that tops them all: to know Jesus more and more intimately.

No matter what it takes. Even not so good times…

 

Today’s Readings: Isaiah 51:1-52:15, Psalm 112:5-10, Proverbs 26:16, Ephesians 2:1-22. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only)

Leave a Reply

