Day 271- Boast in the Cross!

Hi, all: I would very much appreciate prayers. I made a commitment to do this blog for an entire year as a way of ensuring I really pay attention to Scripture during my devotions and mostly to seek God as best I can.

Well, He found me! And He called me to this amazing job. I’ve been working 14 hour days and today had to fly home for the weekend (or longer) to care for my husband and girls since the dialysis has really weakened him.

It’s 12: 23 AM and I am just now blogging. It’s starting to feel like a burden. It has felt that way before, but I kept going and it was good. But now I wonder if I can keep it up. I sometimes wonder if I should stop, to take one thing off my plate.

I want my Yes to be Yes – which means to keep a commitment – so I don’t know what to do. I’d appreciate prayers to do what’s best.

So here’s what jumped out today:

But far be it from me to boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, by which the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world. For neither [following ritual or not following ritual counts for anything], but a new creation. (Galatians 6:14-15 ESV)

That’s where I want to be:

  • boasting more often in the cross
  • deader to the world
  • living more like the new creation I am

Lord: You can do it! Amen

Today’s Readings: Isaiah 47:1-48:22, Psalm 111:7-10, Proverbs 26:11-12, Galatians 6:1-18. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only)

4 thoughts on “Day 271- Boast in the Cross!

  1. It’s good to see you persisting in doing these posts, and I am praying daily for you and your family. But by all means, if you need to streamline or cut down to the bare minimum to make it through hard places, I think God’s grace is more than enough to cover you while you tend to critical business.

    It reminds me of Mark 2, when Jesus said that the Sabbath was made for man, and not man for the Sabbath. I think the same principle would apply here. The commitment you’ve made to this devotional will bless you and strengthen your faith (with the added benefit of blessing visitors to your site), but it doesn’t have to rule over your day in every single instance, even to the point of being detrimental and burdensome.

  2. maybe you’ll have to streamline what you post until you catch your breath….14 hr days are brutal..throw in some travel time and you’ll burn out…I am rejoicing w/ you that you have a job and you love it…your friend DM

    • We’ll see. Now I am home and while I won’t have as many meetings at the new job (which pushed my reflection/reading time to the evening), I now have two little girls, two poodles, and a sick husband on top of work. Ok. Gonna read the passages (I was at hospital this AM, not having devotions), then comment. I’ll streamline!!!

Leave a Reply

