Day 265 – Need Self-Control?

Only 100 days left!

After this past week – really, this past month – I thought maybe I could take a break from my daily devotions blog.  I’m just over-the-top busy.

But I can’t stop.

God has so let me find Him as I seek Him. 

I am overwhelmed. How can I stop now when there’s more of God to find?

So, here we go. This Proverb caught my attention today:

A man without self-control
is like a city broken into and left without walls.(Proverbs 25:28 ESV)

Self- control and discipline are two sides of a coin in my mind.

Discipline says yes to things I don’t feel like doing (but should do).

Self-control says no to things I feel like doing (and shouldn’t do).

I need more of both.

Self-control probably applies mostly to my mouth as I have indicated in several previous posts.

This Proverb begs the question: how does the lack of self-control result in losing one’s walls, losing one’s defenses against the enemy? More specifically, how does poor self-control open the door to sin?

I think vigilance is required for self-control. Vigilance recognizes that I may open mouth and insert foot (for example), so I need to be on guard, aware, in prayer.

And if I stand guard of my heart’s walls in one case, perhaps that same vigilance will serve me in other areas where I need self-control. And vice versa.

Relax in my vigilance about the tongue and I relax about potential sins in general. When I am not vigilant, I too easily say yes when I should say no.

Next question: how do I stay vigilant?

Hm. Prayer?

That’s always a good answer.

And on that note, I shall stop writing.

And continue pondering the matter.

 

Today’s Readings: Isaiah 35:1-36:22, Psalm 109:6-15, Proverbs 25:27-28, 2 Corinthians 13:1-14. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only)

Leave a Reply

