Day 263 – Secret Whispers

The north wind brings forth rain,
and a backbiting tongue, angry looks. (Proverbs 25:23 ESV)

Like a north wind that brings unexpected rain
is a sly tongue—which provokes a horrified look. NIV

The north wind brings forth rain,
And a backbiting tongue [or tongue of secrecy], an angry countenance. NASB

Apparently (thanks ESV Study Bible) the north wind can be pretty damaging. You can’t see it, but you see what it does.

So, too, the tongue that tries to hurt another in secret – the whispers of slander, or near-slander. The whispered word can result in terrible damage.

But here’s the convicting thing.

I surely react in horror when I hear that bad stuff is being said about me (unless it’s true, in which case I should repent).

But do I react in horror, does my brow darken in anger, when I hear sly whisperings about others? Or do I want to lean in and hear the details?

Does my curiosity trump what’s right to do?

I think.

Sigh.

Help.

Today’s (and yesterday’s)  Readings: Isaiah 30:1-32:20, Psalm 108:6-13, Proverbs 25:23-24, 2 Corinthians 11:16-33. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with –permission only)

Leave a Reply

