Day 259 – A Soft Tongue for a Hard Head

With patience a ruler may be persuaded,
and a soft tongue will break a bone.
(Proverbs 25:15 ESV)

With patience you can convince a ruler,
and a gentle word can get through to the hard-headed. (NCV)

This Proverb tells me two things:

  • I need to try this at home with my husband and the girls. A soft tongue, a gentle word.  Hm. That’s a concept.

Seems like in our house gentle words that don’t work lead to loud words that do.

  • When those who report to me start getting real soft, very gentle with their words, I should take note: they may be trying to persuade this hard head.

Or break my bone.

Today’s Readings: Isaiah 21:1-22:25, Psalm 107:1-9, Proverbs 25:14-15, 2 Corinthians 7:2-16. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only)

Leave a Reply

