Day 257 – Hope for the Weary and Sinful

It’s been one of the busiest, over-the-top stressful months I’ve lived in a long time (very sick husband, start of school, essentially two jobs…). Some days I have not lived it so well.

Like this evening.

Lack of sleep and built up pressure made a mockery of this verse:

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here! 2 Corinthians 4: 17 NIV

I didn’t act too much like a new creation tonight. Sadly. My family felt my tension. I was not able to keep it together.

That’s where these verses helped:

… God … reconciled us to himself through Christ and gave us the ministry of reconciliation: that God was reconciling the world to himself in Christ, not counting people’s sins against them.

God made him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God. 2 Corinthians 4: 18-19a, 21

Today I heard an amazing testimony of a woman who God miraculously brought from spiritual death to life. All conversion stories are miracles to me. And by God’s amazing grace, He has put me in the “ministry of reconciliation” business.

And His amazing grace also means that – while I counted my sins tonight – He did not. And more: He covers me with His own righteousness.

And because I am a new creature (though tonight the creature was hiding), my life will bit by bit conform to His righteousness.

Til the day I see Him face to face and I “shall be like Him, for [I] shall see Him as he is.” 1 John 3: 2b

What hope!!!

 

Today’s Readings: Isaiah 17:1-18:7, Psalm 106:32-39, Proverbs 25:11-12, 2 Corinthians 4:16-5:21. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only)

Leave a Reply

