Day 254 – How Do I Respond?

I thought these two passages from today’s readings made for an interesting juxtaposition.

The first is about the Messiah’s rule, when He will make way through the Sea for His people to go to Israel from their captivity in Assyria:

The Lord will dry up
the gulf of the Egyptian [Red] sea

In that day you will say:
“Give praise to the Lord, proclaim his name;
make known among the nations what he has done,
and proclaim that his name is exalted.   (Isaiah 11:15, 12:4 NIV)

Contrast that with Israel’s response when God made a way through the Sea for His people to go to Israel from their captivity in Egypt:

He rebuked the Red Sea, and it dried up;
he led them through the depths as through a desert.

But they soon forgot what he had done
and did not wait for his plan to unfold.
(Psalm 106:9, 13 NIV)

I often don’t realize the way that God is making for me, drying up seas so I can move out of my flesh’s slavery into the freedom of the Spirit.

And when He does, do I remember and rejoice? Or forget and lose  perspective?

Oh, Lord: Help me to see the paths you make for me. And then to remember them. Amen.

 

Today’s Readings: Isaiah 11:1-12:6, Psalm 106:6-18, Proverbs 25:3-5, 2 Corinthians 2:5-17. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only)

Leave a Reply

