Day 246 – The Beautiful Woman Illustrated

As I read this morning’s Song of Solomon passage, all I could think about was this classic drawing. My husband recalled that it came from the Christian satire magazine The Wittenburg Door (it was drawn by Den Hart in 1978).

Here is the drawing for your viewing (and reading) pleasure:

So, are you a beautiful woman? Do you know any?

On another topic…

These days I sometimes struggle with who’s a Christian and who’s not. I know so many who profess orthodoxy yet whose lives seem anything but. And those who don’t seem so orthodox, yet are more loving, caring, etc.

I know all the apologetics (Christians change over time, proof is in the pudding eventually, etc.)  But this Scripture is pretty straightforward:

… I want you to know that no one who is speaking by the Spirit of God says, “Jesus be cursed,” and no one can say, “Jesus is Lord,” except by the Holy Spirit.

1 Corinthians 12: 3 NIV

I do know some who would say “Jesus is Lord,” yet whose lives make me question if the Holy Spirit is in residence. Maybe deep down they don’t mean that Jesus is their Lord. Or maybe I just need to trust God with their apparent hypocrisy or unorthodox beliefs.

After all, what about me??

 

Today’s Readings: Song of Solomon 3:1-4:16, Psalm 104:10-23, Proverbs24:17-18, 1 Corinthians 12:1-31a. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only)

2 thoughts on “Day 246 – The Beautiful Woman Illustrated

  1. Pingback: Morning Links (September 4, 2012) | Justin Hiebert

Leave a Reply

