Day 244 – Some Nice Psalm Thoughts

Hm. What to write about tonight. Focused on Ecclesiastes last night. I’ve touched on the Proverbs wisdom theme a few times before.

I can’t even HANDLE the whole women with head coverings – woman as man’s glory topic. Not tonight. Too long a week to tax my brain like that.

So that leaves the Psalm. Or what’s left of it considering this particular Daily Bible likes to chop them up. I like this part:

… the steadfast love of the Lord is from everlasting to everlasting on those who fear him, and his righteousness to [their] children’s children… Psalm 103: 17 ESV

Two things strike me about this verse from the Psalm.

The first part  reminds me of Timothy’s quote:

The saying is trustworthy, for:

If we have died with him, we will also live with him;
if we endure, we will also reign with him;
if we deny him, he also will deny us;
if we are faithless, he remains faithful—

for he cannot deny himself.  2 Timothy 2: 11-13

God’s love is steadfast. He is always faithful to us. No matter how our hearts stray from Him, His heart never strays from us.

His death demonstrates and assures His faithful love. Love we don’t deserve.

The second part  reminds me of my ancestors.

My father was a self-professed agnostic.  But his great-grandfather was a Presbyterian Elder (he co-founded a church in 1806 that still stands). He also served on the Board of a missionary organization. My Dad didn’t even know this ancestor existed until long after I became a Christian. And as a kid, I had the sense that my Dad’s mother was a Christian and a  Bible reader.

Surely God’s righteousness carried on to their children’s children!

 

Today’s Readings: Ecclesiastes 11:1-12:14, Psalm 103:15-22, Proverbs 24:13-14, 1 Corinthians 11:2-16. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

Leave a Reply

