Day 236 – Enter His Gates with Thanksgiving!!

Today I feel like Job or Joseph or Moses. They went through very dark periods: the deaths and illness, the prison, the desert. Maybe they lost hope for futures they once dreamed of. Perhaps wondered if God was still there.

Then unexpectedly and quickly, everything changed for the better. God returned… and in power. The darkness caused the men to mature, too – in order to better serve God in the light.

A few days ago, I posted that God had answered a prayer immeasurably more than I could even think.

Because of the book A Praying Life, I decided to ask God something ridiculous last May: for the most perfect job ever. It started with “to lead a women’s ministry” and then I went to list a bunch of crazy things I wanted in such a job.

Three days later an executive recruiter called… Was I interested in a job?

I do believe that everything I listed in my prayer was reflected in the position description…

And today, I can tell you that beyond my wildest imagination, an international women’s ministry announced that I am their new CEO and President.

Seriously.

Unbelievable.

Inexpressable.

God IS faithful.

He was always there when He was quiet. He was just doing His thing to mature me and prepare me and humble me.

Today’s Psalm is perfect:

Shout for joy to the Lord, all the earth.
Worship the Lord with gladness;
come before him with joyful songs.
Know that the Lord is God.
It is he who made us, and we are his;
we are his people, the sheep of his pasture.

Enter his gates with thanksgiving
and his courts with praise;
give thanks to him and praise his name.
For the Lord is good and his love endures forever;
his faithfulness continues through all generations. Ps. 100: 1-5 NIV

If you know me, you can check it out on Facebook or email me for details. Otherwise, I’ll say no more to retain Holiday’s anonymity.

Yay, God!!

P.S. By the way, my husband was VERY sick on the way out to my interview and back. Not 4 days after I knew that I had the job, we got the news of his renal failure. I was thrilled – not at the diagnosis – but that the symptoms were explained and could be treated. My husband was sick enough for me to ask myself if I was crazy to interview for such a demanding job. But we both had peace to move forward. God knew we’d find the answer and that dialysis would improve my husband’s health sufficiently for me to start work next month! I talk more about DH’s treatment and God’s answer to our prayers here.

 

Today’s Readings: Job 37:1-38:41, Psalm 100:1-5, Proverbs 23:26-28, 1 Corinthians 5:1-13. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

One thought on “Day 236 – Enter His Gates with Thanksgiving!!

Leave a Reply

