Day 233 – A Timely Word of Encouragement

I am having breakfast with a friend on Thursday. Frankly, I am sort of nervous about the prospect, about how to say what I plan to say.

We got to know each other sitting together at our girls’ basketball and softball games. We talked about our kids and the financial difficulties we both faced because of the economy. We talked about life. We missed a few baskets and runs as we talked, too!

Eventually, God crept into the conversation.

When I asked my friend one day if she’d like to study the Bible, she said yes.  So she came to the group I started last year.

Then our discussions at games focused more on spiritual matters.

For some time now, I’ve sensed I need to meet with her and share the gospel message. Maybe she’s already in the kingdom. Maybe she’s in the birth canal. I know she’s close.

No matter what her spiritual situation, it’s good to go through the basic truths of sin, salvation, assurance of salvation, sanctification, and the means of grace.

I must admit: I’m nervous. It’s always scary to share the gospel.

I mean, it’s basically telling someone that 1) he or she is a sinner and 2) that Jesus is the only solution to that problem.

Some people might take offense to such a personal and narrow-minded discussion. People don’t like hearing that Jesus is the only way to God, that He IS God!

Which is where one of today’s passages blessed me:

When I [Paul] came to you [the Corinthians], I did not come with eloquence or human wisdom as I proclaimed to you the testimony about God. For I resolved to know nothing while I was with you except Jesus Christ and him crucified.

I came to you in weakness with great fear and trembling. My message and my preaching were not with wise and persuasive words, but with a demonstration of the Spirit’s power, so that your faith might not rest on human wisdom, but on God’s power. 1 Corinthians 2: 1-5 NIV

Isn’t that the perfect passage for Thursday’s meeting???

It reminds me of the Bill Bright quote often repeated at the Campus Crusade evangelism training I received: “Evangelism is simply sharing the Gospel in the power of the Holy Spirit and leaving the results up to God.”

Amen.

P.S. Please pray. I’ll let you know how it goes!

 

Today’s Readings: Job 31:1-32:22, Psalm 98:1-3, Proverbs 23:17-18, 1 Corinthians 2: 1-16. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

Leave a Reply

