Day 232 – Bragging About Jesus

I remember when in college I was afraid to say the name of God out loud, much less the name of Jesus. I mean, after all, those born-again Christians were really weird, anti-intellectual types, or so I often heard.

Far be it for me to admit I was one of those Christians, unless, of course, I was in the company of others of those Christians.

What liberation when I finally found I could speak publicly about God or Jesus and not be ridiculed, in fact, could pique the interest of those who held the stereotypical view of evangelicals in their mind. I often heard, “Well, you don’t act like a born-again Christian…” meant as a compliment…

According to 1 Corinthians 1:31, we aren’t just to mention the name of Jesus, we’re to brag about Him!

And because of [God] you are in Christ Jesus, who became to us wisdom from God, righteousness and sanctification and redemption, so that, as it is written, “Let the one who boasts, boast in the Lord.” 1 Corinthians 1: 30-31 ESV

And Paul is quoting Jeremiah 9: 23-24:

Thus says the Lord: “Let not the wise man boast in his wisdom, let not the mighty man boast in his might, let not the rich man boast in his riches, but let him who boasts boast in this, that he understands and knows me, that I am the Lord who practices steadfast love, justice, and righteousness in the earth. For in these things I delight, declares theLord.”

In the context of both 1 Corinthians 1 and Jeremiah 9, we are not to boast in who we know, how wise we are, our righteousness, our wealth, our might…

but that because of His wisdom, mercy, and redeeming love, we know Him who is all wisdom, righteousness, wealth and might.

If there’s relationship we should brag about, it’s that we are friends with Jesus.

Not because we earned the relationship, but that He died to become our friend.

I can’t believe there was a time when I was afraid to mention His name.

 
Today’s Readings: Job 29:1-30:31, Psalm 97:7-12, Proverbs 23:15-16, 1 Corinthians 1: 1-31. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

Leave a Reply

