Day 226 – How Many Likes Do YOU Have??

I’m telling you. It’s hard to blog on these Epistles. I find myself reading over parts I know so well, passages I’ve taught on. And I want to write what I know here.

Like how absolutely important it is for Christians to discover their spiritual gifts and to serve in the Body of Christ using those gifts. Check out the first half of Romans 12 for more info.

But I digress…

I need to focus on what’s new. For me.

The second half of Romans 12 is like a streamofconsciousness list of life pointers. There’s a pretty big focus at the end on how to respond to one’s persecutors and enemies.

But these three phrases jumped out at me:

  • Outdo one another in showing honor.   12:10b (ESV)
  • Do not be haughty (proud: NIV), but associate with the lowly.   16b
  • Never be wise in your own sight (estimation: NASB).  16c

I don’t know, but I think these phrases are three different takes on the same principle that Paul expounds in Romans 12: 3b –  “I say to everyone among you not to think of himself more highly than he ought to think.”

It’s just about the opposite of what we learn for business, in society, and across the Internet:

  • Outdo one another in gaining honor – and views, Friends, followers, or hits!
  • Do be haughty if that’s what it takes to associate with someone rich or famous…
  • Make sure you think well of yourself. Be wise by your own estimation or you’ll never convince others that you are worthy of the job, the friendship, the adulation… whatever it is you “need.”

It’s so easy to slowly drift into thinking the world’s way [e.g., how many of you will read this post? I know cause I check!].

How do I follow Jesus’ upside-down rule of serving, of being last, of losing my life?

A good look at the Cross helps.

Because when I see Jesus there, I see someone who shows me honor, associates with the lowly, and regards himself as nothing for my sake.

 

Today’s Readings: Job 17:3-18:21,  Psalm 95:1-5, Proverbs 23:1-3, Romans 12:1-21. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

Leave a Reply

