Day 216 – Why I Stayed a Christian

I’ve written here about my “dusky hour” of doubt. Where God seemed to have pulled a blind over His presence in my life. Where He did what was necessary to reveal sin and lead me to repentance.

No matter what my emotional and spiritual state, I could never walk away. I could never “stop” being a Christian.

The main reason?

The Cross.

I thought, if there’s a Creator God (and the evidence is compelling, exceedingly so), then this is the Creator God I want to follow:

You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly. Very rarely will anyone die for a righteous person, though for a good person someone might possibly dare to die. But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us. Romans 5: 6-8  NIV

That just amazes me, still. This is a God who doesn’t wait for nor expect that we can reach him by our own good works. There’s no pay-it-forward or backward or in-between with this God.

We are powerless. We are still sinners.

Knowing that we are powerless sinners, Jesus Christ:

… being in very nature God,
did not consider equality with God something to be used to his own advantage;
rather, he made himself nothing
by taking the very nature of a servant,
being made in human likeness.

And being found in appearance as a man,
he humbled himself
by becoming obedient to death —
even death on a Cross!

Philippians 2: 6-8

Wow. What other god is like this?

My mind tells me there is a Creator.

My heart tells me that the Creator is the God of the Cross.

With a God like this, when tough – dry, doubting –  times come, we can:

…boast in the hope of the glory of God. Not only so, but we [can] also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us. Romans 5: 2b-5

Amen and Amen.

Today’s Readings: Esther 7:1-8:17,  Psalm 90:7-17, Proverbs 22:10-11, Romans 5:1-21. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

One thought on “Day 216 – Why I Stayed a Christian

  1. Pingback: 2017 Day 124 – Got Doubts? | Longing for a Holiday at Sea

Leave a Reply

