Day 207 – Pray First. Speak Last.

Hanani ventures from Jerusalem back to Susa, the capital city of Persia where his brother, Nehemiah, serves as wine steward to King Artaxerxes.

Hanani tells Nehemiah with shame that the walls around Jerusalem are broken down. Nehemiah then cries, fasts and prays for several days, coming to the conclusion that he must return to Jerusalem to rebuild the wall.

But first, he needs Artaxerxes’ permission. And here’s what happened:

The king said to me, “What is it you want?”

Then I prayed to the God of heaven, and I answered the king…

Nehemiah 2: 4-5a NIV

Wow. That stunned me.

Before a word came out of Nehemiah’s mouth, he prayed.

Boy, do I need to do that more often. All the time!

What recognition of the flesh’s potential to say the wrong thing. What reliance on God’s wise words.

What wisdom!

I’ve written here and here and here and here about how much I need to slow down before engaging mouth.

Now I have the way to do it: STOP AND PRAY!!

Oh, Lord: Help me to slow down and pray before engaging mouth. Amen

Today’s Readings: Nehemiah 1:1-2:20,  Psalm 88:11-18, Proverbs 21:25-26, Acts 25:1-27. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

Leave a Reply

