Day 195 – Going to the Beach

You read it here. We are heading for the beach. First family vacation not to a family location in a few years. I’m not packed, of course. So this will be brief.

I fondly remember one of the last vacations I took before meeting and marrying my husband – a trip to Greece and Turkey with a girlfriend. She had never been abroad and I was itching to do so. My friend is Greek and wanted to visit the land of her ancestors.

I mentioned two posts ago that I visited Philippi. We stayed in Thessalonica and stopped for lunch in Berea, too – a veritable tour of these last chapters in Acts.

By the way, in all three of these locations, Luke points out that “prominent women” became believers… (Acts 16:14, 17: 4, 12). Just sayin’.

I’ll never forget walking through the idol-lined streets of old Athens, then taking a tour of the Areopagus, the very hill above Athens where Paul introduced the Greeks to their unknown god – the “Lord of  heaven and earth.” (Acts 17: 24 NIV). Speaking of the idols of silver and gold that the Greeks and Romans worshiped, Paul preached:

“In the past God overlooked such ignorance, but now he commands all people everywhere to repent. For he has set a day when he will judge the world with justice by the man he has appointed. He has given proof of this to everyone by raising him from the dead.”

When they heard about the resurrection of the dead, some of them sneered, but others said, “We want to hear you again on this subject.” Acts 17: 30-32

I walked where Paul walked! I stood where Paul preached!

And I saw where several of his listeners became believers (including, of course, a woman named “Damaris”)!

Well, off on another vacation tomorrow. Not as exciting, but hopefully just as fun.

 

Today’s Readings: 2 Chronicles 21:4-23:7,  Psalm 83:1-8, Proverbs 21:1, Acts 17:16-34. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

Leave a Reply

