Day 192 – I Have No Clue What Life is About

How TRUE is this?

The Lord decides what a person will do;
no one understands what his life is all about. Proverbs 20:24 NCV

Sometimes I get a kick out of how the New Century Version Bible paraphrases a verse. How often have you felt that way?  I have!

No clue what life is all about.

Which means to me, it’s a good thing someone knows what life is about! That would be the Lord – who decides what a person will do.

The ESV puts a different spin on the passage:

A man’s steps are from the Lord;
how then can man understand his way??

Well, this translation tells me that since I have no clue what I am doing, I need God to show me my steps (similar to the conclusion drawn from NCV).

ESV Study Bible refers to Proverbs 16: 9:

The heart of man plans his way,
but the Lord establishes his steps.

Now this tells me: why bother following my heart or even planning? Ultimately God decides where I’ll go.

No matter how I cut this, it looks like I’m inept and must let God take control.

Which is what the New Geneva Study Bible says (referring to both of these verses):

Such passages point to the limitations of knowledge obtained from observation. God’s sovereign purposes alone are certain.

Of that, I am certain!

 

 

Today’s Readings: 2 Chronicles 15:1-16:14,  Psalm 81:6b-10, Proverbs 20:24-25, Acts 16:1-15. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

Leave a Reply

