Day 188 – A Rare Gift of Friendship

Gold there is, and rubies in abundance,
but lips that speak knowledge are a rare jewel.                                        Proverbs 20: 15 NIV

Amen.

A close friend just left with her kids. They’ll be on the road tomorrow to finish their trip, having stopped off midway to visit this evening. She was my roommate in grad school and then in New York City.

It’s quite late, so this will be brief.

We got into this discussion of premil vs. amil and young vs. old earth. We both love Jesus and want Him to have the glory, but we came down on different sides of the issues.

What really impressed me was that she and I had the kind of discussion that I think very few church people have any more. Especially church women.

I can tell you for sure, my friend had done a ton more research and Bible reading than I had on these subjects.

She spoke with knowledge.

That’s a rare jewel.

What a shame that so few “Christians” take the Bible seriously enough to know it that well, to dig that much, to study it that thoroughly.

She brought to mind this verse:

Do your best to present yourself to God as one approved, a worker who does not need to be ashamed and who correctly handles the word of truth. 2 Timothy 2: 15

She impressed me and challenged me.

That’s a rare gift for any of us to have, too. A friend like that.

How grateful I am to know her!!



Today’s Readings: 2 Chronicles 7:1-8:18,  Psalm 80:1-6, Proverbs 20:15, Acts 13:26-52. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

One thought on “Day 188 – A Rare Gift of Friendship

Leave a Reply

