Day 174 – OK, So I Skimmed

I have been pretty faithful to try and read every word of the Bible readings this year.

But I have to admit, I’ve been skimming lately.

After all, who can even PRONOUNCE phrases like this:

Ahio, Shashak, Jeremoth, Zebadiah, Arad, Eder, Michael, Ishpah and Joha were the sons of Beriah. Zebadiah, Meshullam, Hizki, Heber, Ishmerai, Izliah and Jobab were the sons of Elpaal. Jakim, Zikri, Zabdi, Elienai, Zillethai, Eliel, Adaiah, Beraiah and Shimrath were the sons of Shimei. Ishpan, Eber, Eliel, Abdon, Zikri, Hanan, Hananiah, Elam, Anthothijah,Iphdeiah and Penuel were the sons of Shashak. Shamsherai, Shehariah, Athaliah,Jaareshiah, Elijah and Zikri were the sons of Jeroham. 1 Chronicles: 17-27 NIV

Even if I could pronounce these names, why bother?

Will I be more holy having read each and every name?

I think not. But the lists do bring to mind the fact that just as God counts the hairs on our head, He knows the descendents of Abraham.

I’m glad He knows (and can pronounce) my name.

Still, I will continue to skim these 1 Chronicles passages, at least until I return home.

After all, I am working my ministry’s booth 14 hours a day at this conference. I am ready to stop writing and go to sleep.

Night!

Today’s Readings: 1 Chronicles 7:1-9:1a,  Psalm 77:4-10, Proverbs 19:13-14, Acts 5:17-42. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

Leave a Reply

