Day 168 – Whoa: Think First!

It seems that most of us can relate to Peter the impetuous Apostle. He’s a “real” guy who speaks and acts before thinking. I suffer from that same flaw. So today’s Proverb spoke to me…

The New Century Version Bible I am reading each day is a paraphrase and renders Proverbs 19:2:

Enthusiasm without knowledge is not good.
If you act too quickly, you might make a mistake.

I can think of many times when I got too excited about something, barged forward, then remembered to think, to review the situation, to weigh the pros and cons.

Oops. Just a wee bit late!

Sometimes the enthusiasm is negative. I get frustrated and speak or act before I should. Welcome to motherhood!

Here’s how the ESV translates the Proverb:

Desire without knowledge is not good,
and whoever makes haste with his feet misses his way.

The notes say “desire” can also be translated “soul.”

Here’s another situation I’ve seen – people desiring things and going after them without checking what God says about the decision. How often have I heard, “God wants me to have this,” when Scripture forbids it. Knowledge is a good thing.

Both versions of the passage remind me to stop, think, evaluate, check Scripture – before moving too quickly.

‘Cause if I don’t, I’m apt to make a mistake, to miss my way, to trip over my enthusiasm.

Reminds me of one of the fruits of the Spirit (Galatians 5:22-23) – self-control. I need to stop myself so I can think, then exhibit another fruit – patience. I need to wait until the right time to move forward.

Not too exciting, but that’s what I got tonight:

SLOW DOWN AND THINK!!

Today’s Readings: 2 Kings 19:1-21:26,  Psalm 74:12-17, Proverbs 19:1-2, Acts 2:1-21. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

Leave a Reply

