Day 164 – Bad Grandma, Wisdom, & 2 Stories of the Cross

My many readers frequently ask me how I select the Scripture I post about each day. Well, I simply write about whatever jumps out and grabs me as I read. Occasionally I ask God to make sure He’s behind the grabbing.

So sorry. I mislead you. I’m not sure anyone has ever asked me that question, and as for many readers? Well, that’s wishful thinking.

Having wasted two paragraphs fooling around, I’ll get right down to the several things that struck me tonight.

With Grandmothers Like This…

Who said ours was a culture of death because we allow abortion? You think we’re bad? Get this from 1 Kings 11: 1 “When Athaliah the mother of Ahaziah saw that her son was dead, she proceeded to destroy the whole royal family.” (NIV)

Did you read that?

This woman murdered her grandsons  (the royal princes”)  in order to gain the throne of Judah. Her daughter (or stepdaughter) hid one of the grandsons, Joash, so the line could continue once Athalia was killed.

I had to read the passage three times to understand that this “Grandmamma” killed her own family for her personal well-being.

Scary.

Ain’t this True?

Someone comes to me with a problem that usually involves another person. I find that I accept the story hook line and sinker then want to defend my friend.  This also happens with my kids (although I am not so quick to defend)…

In these cases, I have to remind myself about my friend’s story: “There’s your truth. Then there’s their truth. And the real truth is somewhere in the middle.” My wise husband taught me that phrase and it helps me to slow down, listen, but make no judgments until I have heard more. From both sides.

And wouldn’t you know (like everything else), that same wisdom is right here in the Bible:

The one who states his case first seems right,
until the other comes and examines him. Proverbs 19: 17 (ESV)

A reminder once more: don’t make hasty judgments until you’ve heard both sides of the story.

Two Great Accounts at the Cross

Story 1

It’s almost 1/2 way through the year, and I’m finishing up the Gospels. John is now talking about the Cross.

I love the way that Jesus looks out for Mary here:

When Jesus saw his mother and the disciple whom he loved [that would be John] standing nearby, he said to his mother, “Woman, behold, your son!” Then he said to the disciple, “Behold, your mother!” And from that hour the disciple took her to his own home. John 10:26-27

And I love the way that John knew  he was loved by Jesus!

Story 2

The last time we read about Nicodemus, it’s not clear what is going to happen to him. After hearing that stuff about being ‘born again’…

Nicodemus said to [Jesus], “How can these things be?” Jesus answered him, “Are you the teacher of Israel and yet you do not understand these things? … If I have told you earthly things and you do not believe, how can you believe if I tell you heavenly things? John 3: 9, 10, 12 (ESV)

Doesn’t sound like Nic got it or believed it, according to Jesus.

But after Jesus died, Nicodemus (“who earlier had come to Jesus by night”) joined Joseph of Arimathea – who’s called a disciple of Jesus – as the men took Jesus from the cross to the grave, apparently no longer afraid to be identified with him.

So, it looks like Nicodemus got that new birth, after all.

I love that!

Have a good evening!

Today’s Readings: 2 Kings 11:1-13:25,  Psalm 72:1-14, Proverbs 18:16-17, John 19:16b-41. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

3 thoughts on “Day 164 – Bad Grandma, Wisdom, & 2 Stories of the Cross

  1. I have that tendency with believing people, AND I have the opposite tendency, that when someone is complaining or telling about something, I feel the need to play devil’s advocate and say “but what about x” or “are you sure” or “how do you know” — and so the person confiding in me doesn’t feel supported at all.

    I think that listening supportively has less to do with deciding who’s right, and more to do with caring and really hearing and wanting to understand. It sure is hard to do.

Leave a Reply

