Day 150 – God’s Hang Outs

I read about the Temple Solomon built today in 1 Kings. It made me think about the fact that some of the Temple walls are still there in Jerusalem.

And the sermon this past Sunday was about God’s Temple today – our bodies – the Holy Spirit having come down to dwell within men at the first Pentacost.

This led me to think: where has God dwelt over time? Well, that’s too narrow: where has God dwelt and/or touched down on this earth over time?

So I decided to put a list together. I was going to include Scripture references, but that’s a lot of work at 10:13 PM EST.

So, here they are in chronological order (except for God always dwells in the Trinity, but that’s where He was before the foundation of the earth… oh,I guess He’s always in heaven, too) – God’s hang-outs:

  • The Trinity
  • Heaven
  • Eden
  • Various theophanies (appearances of God in human/angelic form)
  • Mt. Sinai
  • The Tabernacle
  • The Ark
  • Solomon’s Temple
  • Ezra’s Temple
  • Herod’s Temple
  • Jesus
  • Within a Christian
  • Within the Church (His body)
  • The New Jerusalem

I think there’s a bit of progression from way out there (relative to us) to inside us spiritually to right with us, in our midst (all three members of the Trinity).

Can anyone think of any other places God has visited?


By the way, my blog posts the last few days feel less than inspired (and I recognize I am doing some shoddy homework). I am getting tired – some nights it feels like work – and I am not 1/2 way there!

But I made a commitment to do this. AND it’s had a very positive impact on my spiritual life. So I will forge ahead. Any prayers for re-invigoration are appreciated.

Today’s Readings: 1 Kings 5:1-6:38,  Psalm 68:21-27, Proverbs 17:13-15, John 10:22-42. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

Leave a Reply

