Day 148 – Children Proud of Parents? Sure…

I don’t know what I think about the Proverb I read tonight:

Children’s children are a crown to the aged,
and parents are the pride of their children.

Proverbs 17: 6 NIV

Other translations say glory in the place of pride.

I understand how grandchildren crown their grandparents.

But are our girls proud of their father and me? Do they glory in us?

It seems a stretch.  Especially with the teenager.

I think I’ll take a trip to my three study Bibles for some illumination.

  • The New Geneva Study Bible refers to the “honor your parents” command (of the 10) and says “The parents are the guardians and most influential teachers of divine truth to their children.”
  • My new favorite, the ESV Study Bible says: “Families depend on one another for  their identity and joy. Both young and old should cherish their inter-generational relationships.”
  • The NIV Study Bible refers to Genesis 47:7 where Joseph presented his father Jacob to Pharaoh. Then Jacob blessed Pharaoh.

The way I read the first two commentaries, children SHOULD glory in their parents. Try telling THEM that!

I thought the reference to Joseph was odd, but I realize that by introducing his father to Pharaoh, Joseph was showing esteem to his dad. He was proud enough of Jacob to present him to Pharaoh and have him bless Pharaoh.

No matter what the commentaries say, I hope that our kids don’t glory in us because they should, but because in a sense we’ve earned it. I hope we are the kind of parents  our kids will be proud to introduce us when they grow up.

I can’t expect that now (especially with the teenager: “MOM. Don’t embarrass me!”), but I hope one day that our kids will be proud of us. Not that we deserve it. But that God will have enabled us in some measure to teach them “divine truth” and “influence” their relationships with Jesus.

Today’s Readings: 2 Samuel 23:1-24:251,  Psalm 68:7-10, Proverbs 17:5-6, John 9:1-23. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

Leave a Reply

