Day 140 – The Obscure Miracle (or Not)

The strangest things jump out as I read sometimes. Today I noticed a miracle that I’d never seen before: Jesus had a transporter.

After Jesus feeds the 5000 in John 6, the disciples get in a boat to go across the Sea of Galilee to near Capernaum. Matthew and Mark say that Jesus stayed back to pray.

In any case, when the boatload is about 1/2 way across, the winds pick up, the sea gets rough…

And Jesus comes walking by on the water.

Not surprisingly, the guys in the boat “were frightened.”

But [Jesus] said to them, “It is I; don’t be afraid.”  Then they were willing to take him into the boat, and immediately the boat reached the shore where they were heading. John 6: 20-21 NIV

It’s an amazing miracle of course that Jesus walked on water. (Matthew tells us that Peter tried to follow suit… and sank when his faith failed).

But did you catch that “immediately the boat reached the shore where they were heading?”

That means that the boat traveled at least a couple more miles (from my reading of the map) – in an instant.

I checked my commentaries and not everyone believes this was another miracle (they say that “immediately” means that there were no other hindrances). But some agree: this was a new miracle – instant movement from place to place – a transporter.

But I like the idea that Jesus was in a hurry to get to the other side.

After all, Jesus moved so fast on the water that He caught up and walked past the boat when the disciples recognized Him.

One more thing: Jesus tells the disciples not to be frightened because “It is I.” The Greek translated “It is I” is “ego eimi” which is transliterated “I AM.”

John deliberately sprinkles Jesus’ I AM statements throughout his gospel, a deliberate reference to God’s Old Testament name I AM.

Jesus’ walking and transporting miracles were just two more signs (testimonies, as I discussed yesterday) that He was indeed I AM.

And He still is.

Today’s Readings: 2 Samuel 9:1-10:19,  Psalm 65:1-8, Proverbs 16:20-21, John 6:1-21. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

5 thoughts on “Day 140 – The Obscure Miracle (or Not)

  1. Enoch. Genesis 5 has a list of the descendants of Adam, all of whom lived to such and such an age, had a child, had other sons and daughters, lived to such and such an age, “and he died.” Then for Enoch, “and he was not, for God took him.”

Leave a Reply

