Day 120 – A Study in Fruitful Trees

It's not God's house, but here are fruit trees in a house!

But I am like an olive tree
flourishing in the house of God;
I trust in God’s unfailing love
for ever and ever.

For what you have done I will always praise you
in the presence of your faithful people.
And I will hope in your name,
for your name is good.
Psalm 52:8-9 (NIV)

I simply liked how this part of Psalm 52 sounded (these last verses of the Psalm present a contrast to the evil and doomed person described in the first 7 verses).

I like how the Psalmist trusts always in God’s unfailing (everlasting) love.

I like how the Psalmist praises God for what He has done and hopes in God’s good name.

Yet this morning, I failed to trust, praise, and hope.

I was in a bad mood about some of what God is doing (or not doing) in our lives, so I questioned His love and goodness.

But even when circumstances are difficult (and this morning, life felt overwhelming), God still merits my trust, praise, and hope – well, because He is God! And, besides, He does what He does out of love and goodness.

I like this Psalm, too, because it reminds me of Psalm 1, which I quoted in my high school yearbook (seriously).

That Psalm says that the person who delights in God’s law and meditates on it “is like a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither…” (vs. 3). This tree prospers – generously providing fruit for others.

And the Psalm 52 tree also reminds me of the tree of life in Revelation 22: 1-3:

Then the angel showed me the river of the water of life, as clear as crystal, flowing from the throne of God and of the Lamb down the middle of the great street of the city. On each side of the river stood the tree of life, bearing twelve crops of fruit, yielding its fruit every month. And the leaves of the tree are for the healing of the nations….

Check out the parallels between the tree in Psalm 1 and the tree in Revelation 22. Coincidence? Or providence?! I wonder if all 3 trees are olive trees?

ESV Study Bible says the tree of Psalm 52 is a green olive tree: “an image of vitality and fruitfulness.” Which fits. In fact, all three trees fruitfully flourish, providing sustenance to others. And all three find their sustenance in God:

  • The Psalm 52 tree flourishes because it is located near God, in His House – where the Lord provides hospitality
  • The Psalm 1 tree flourishes beside a stream because the Psalmist avoids evil and delights in the Word
  • The Revelation tree flourishes in the New Jerusalem, God’s new House. It is fed by living waters flowing from the Lamb, the Word.

As I have been studying Scripture this year, I am OFTEN convicted of my failure to obey and honor God (as I confessed in this very post!).

It’s encouraging to realize that my time spent in the Word will impart living waters to my soul – at some point leading to repentance and greater fruitfulness.

Amen!

Today’s Readings: Ruth 3:1-4:22, Psalm 52:8-9, Proverbs 15:6-7, Luke 20:1-26. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

One thought on “Day 120 – A Study in Fruitful Trees

  1. How we should all hope and long to be one of the fruitful trees resting by the waters flowing from God!!

Leave a Reply

