Day 106 – Dialing Jesus-911

I remember being comforted by a hymn when I was a kid, the first lines of which went like this: “God is our refuge, our refuge and our strength. In trouble, in trouble, a very present help.” That song was so old, I couldn’t even Google it…

I came upon the source of those verses in Psalm 46, vs. 1 in today’s reading: “God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.” NIV

  • I can hide in Him.
  • He will strengthen me.
  • Whenever I am in trouble, He will be my help (I like that: not that He helps me, but He is my help!)

I honestly don’t always feel that way. But maybe God is like 911. We can dial 911 any time for help, but we usually wait until there’s an REAL emergency. And most of us never dial 911.

Maybe Jesus didn’t hang up as much as I didn’t dial him.

I found the next verses interesting, especially with the year anniversary of the Japanese earthquake and tsunami having recently passed:

Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way
and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea,
though its waters roar and foam
and the mountains quake with their surging. (vs. 2,3)

I am anxious and/or angry (when I am not anxious about something, I am usually angry about it) far too often (as discussed in yesterday’s post).

But if I remember that I can ALWAYS dial Jesus-911 — for refuge, for strength, for help — then I won’t have to fear during a natural disaster and I won’t have to be anxious during the thousands of far-from-disaster nuisance concerns that beset me daily.

Jesus never said I had to wait until an emergency to call.

Today’s Readings: Joshua 19:1-20:19, Psalm 46:1-6, Proverbs 14:7-11, Luke 12:32-59. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts. Your daily blogger, Holiday Longing (Reproduce with permission only).

Leave a Reply

