Day 80 – What Kind of Wife Am I? (Of Wives and Words)

Of Wives

I’ve been waiting for a Proverb to sneak up and smack me between the eyes, and here it is:

An excellent (or virtuous or noble) wife is the crown of her husband,
but she who brings shame (or disgrace) is like rottenness (or decay) in his bones. Proverbs 12: 4 (various)

I don’t think I bring shame to my husband, though I’ve been known to shame him.

And I can totally see how shaming my husband could cause his bones to decay, in the sense of him feeling worn down, just rotten inside. (I wrote more about that kind of woman here). Egads.

But am I excellent? Virtuous? Noble?

I don’t know, but those words don’t seem to fit. Sort of like “precious.” I never took to that ubiquitously Southern phrase. Precious. Bah.

More to the point, do I in any way serve as a crown to my husband? Do I build up his reputation by my actions? My words?

Probably not enough.

Ok. Too convicting. Let’s move on.

Of Words!

I just have to say something about those Old Testament names. I was dying reading some of the phrases in Deuteronomy. Glad I didn’t have to read them aloud.

These are the words Moses spoke to all Israel in the wilderness east of the Jordan—that is, in the Arabah—opposite Suph, between Paran and Tophel, Laban, Hazeroth and Dizahab. (It takes eleven days to go from Horeb to Kadesh Barnea by the Mount Seir road.) Deuteronomy1:1, 2 (NIV)

And here is a mouthful of an aside:

(The Emites used to live there—a people strong and numerous, and as tall as the Anakites.  Like the Anakites, they too were considered Rephaites, but the Moabites called them Emites.  Horites used to live in Seir, but the descendants of Esau drove them out…) Deuteronomy 2: 10-12

Let me get this straight. The Emites and the Anakites were tall Rephaites. But you can call them Emites.

One more aside:

(That too was considered a land of the Rephaites, who used to live there; but the Ammonites called them Zamzummites….) Deuteronomy 2: 20

So, are the Emites Zamzummites, too?

This reminds me of a point I’ve made a couple of times here and here. There’s no way anyone made this stuff up. Who would take the time to write fiction like this? No one would read it (and it’s a strain for me to!).

And who would take the time to make up all these names centuries later? No, Moses did it (presumably with the help of an amanuensis… heh heh).

Today’s Readings: Deuteronomy 1:1-2:37, Psalm 36:1-4, Proverbs 12:4-6, Mark 16:1-20. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts.

2 thoughts on “Day 80 – What Kind of Wife Am I? (Of Wives and Words)

  1. Have you read Love and Respect by Echrich? I think I have the spelling right. of all the various marriage material we’ve attended, read, watched/ participated in, etc…and there’s been quite a bit over the past 33 yrs…this one wins hands down. g-nite! 🙂 DM

Leave a Reply

