Day 77 – So, Who’s Stupid?

I haven’t talked much about the Proverbs yet, but this one caught my attention. Proverbs often uses the term “fool” when referring to someone who is unwise.

But here, in almost every translation, the Scripture says “stupid.”

Except the King James, which uses “brutish.” Nice word: “brutish! ”

I don’t rightly recall the Bible using the term “stupid” much – only one other Proverb (30: 2) and maybe 5-10 other places in the whole Bible (depending on the translation).

So, who is stupid?

Anyone who dislikes being corrected or reproved.

And the person who loves to learn and gain knowledge will love being disciplined, corrected, instructed.

So here’s the verse in all it’s glory:

Whoever loves discipline loves knowledge,
but whoever hates correction is stupid Proverbs 12: 11 (NIV)

Whoever loves discipline (or instruction) loves knowledge,
But he who hates reproof is stupid. (NASB)

Whoever loves discipline loves knowledge,
but he who hates reproof is stupid. (ESV)

Anyone who loves learning accepts correction,
but a person who hates being corrected is stupid. (NCV)

Whoso loveth instruction loveth knowledge:
but he that hateth reproof is brutish. (KJV)

I need to point out this passage to my kids.

And I must admit, I’m not too keen on receiving advice, but I’ll take reproof from someone I respect. Most people can’t see their “stuff” very well.

We need others to point it out (and ultimately, God is the one who knows our deepest “stuff,” what’s down in our heart, and reveals it to us – Psalm 44:21, 139).

So, I’ll take the correction.

Any readers out there have a good word for me tonight?!

Today’s Readings: Numbers 31:1-32:42, Psalm 35:1-10, Proverbs 12:1, Mark 14:53-72. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts.

Leave a Reply

