Day 74 – Start Being Thankful Already

I was sort of convicted that I was being a bit bossy with God in yesterday’s post.

Jesus came to serve, but it was His choice to “seek and save the lost.” I have no right to demand anything from Him, including that He mature me spiritually.

Just as Jesus served me, to the point of death on a cross, so I need to follow His example and serve Him.

One way to serve Him is to be thankful. In those whiny Psalms, the writer often gets over his complaint by praising God. I sometimes often grumble about what I don’t have. Instead, I need to work on praise.

This Psalm helps – and reminds me of a song I used to sing (which I have posted way below after the post, with a link to the audio – but I don’t know who wrote it):

I will extol the LORD at all times;
his praise will always be on my lips.
I will glory in the LORD;
let the afflicted hear and rejoice.
Glorify the LORD with me;
let us exalt his name together.
I sought the LORD, and he answered me;
he delivered me from all my fears.
Those who look to him are radiant;
their faces are never covered with shame. (Psalm 34: 1-5, NIV)

It’s true that David had been delivered from Abimelech when he penned this Psalm. But it doesn’t say that God will always deliver us from icky situations, but from our fears. And sometimes I fear that the difficult situations in our family’s life will never change.

I think know there’s a connection between extolling, praising, and glorifying the Lord and improving my attitude. I think when we do that, when we look to Him as we should, not angrily, but amazed at His service to us on the cross, we will be radiant.

I’m gonna try it. Being more thankful that is.

Today’s Readings: Numbers 25:1-26:65, Psalm 34:1-7, Proverbs 11:28, Mark 13:28-37. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts.

Let us exalt His name

At all times I will bless Him,
His praise will be in my mouth,
my soul makes its boast in the Lord;
humble man will hear of Him,
the afflicted will be glad
and join with me to magnify the Lord.

Chorus

Let us exalt His name together forever,
I sought the Lord,
He heard me and delivered me from my fears;
Let us exalt His name together forever,
O sing His praises magnify the Lord.

The angel of the Lord encamps
around those who fear His name,
to save them and deliver them from harm;
Though lion roar with hunger,
we lack no good thing,
no wonder then we praise Him with our song.

Chorus

Come children now and hear me
if you would see long life,
just keep your lips from wickedness and lies;
Do good and turn from evil
seek peace instead of strife,
love righteousness and God will hear your cry

Chorus

Leave a Reply

