Day 73 – God: Fulfill Your Promises, Please?

I was in a mood this morning. I was late to work. My husband drives me because we are down to one car thanks to 1) last year’s hail damage and 2) the lack of two paying jobs.

The whole way there I felt myself steaming and thinking, thinking about the fact that I was steaming, and that I steam way too often.

And I notice it in my girls. I hear the sarcasm and the judgmental attitudes and the anger. “They” (the experts) say that behaviors are “more caught than taught.” Well, the girls are catching it from me.

Sigh.

I’m ruining other people’s lives with my negativity.

So, God, why don’t you change me? Make me pleasant rather than snarky? Hopeful rather than pessimistic? Encouraging rather than picky?

Well in my reading today, I came across this (thanks to Balaam of the famous Speaking Ass incident):

God is not human, that he should lie,
not a human being, that he should change his mind.
Does he speak and then not act? 
   Does he promise and not fulfill? Numbers 23: 19, NIV

So, here are some promises, God, and I’m holding you to them!

…he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus. Philippians 1: 6

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. Romans 8: 28

He who did not spare his own Son, but gave him up for us all—how will he not also, along with him, graciously give us all things? Romans 8: 32

[Our earthly fathers] disciplined us for a little while as they thought best; but God disciplines us for our good, in order that we may share in his holiness.  No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it. Hebrews 12: 10-11

Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time. 1 Peter 5:6

And we all, who with unveiled faces contemplate the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his image with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.2 Corinthians 2: 8

You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. Jeremiah 29:13

Today’s Readings: Numbers 23:1-24:25, Psalm 33:16-22, Proverbs 11:27, Mark 13:1-27. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts.

Leave a Reply

