Day 72 – The One Spoke the Universe into Existence Watches Over Me

This transcendent God:

By the word of the LORD the heavens were made,
their starry host by the breath of his mouth….
For he spoke, and it came to be;
he commanded, and it stood firm. Psalm 33: 6, 9 (NIV)

Condescends to people:

From heaven the LORD looks down
and sees all mankind;
from his dwelling place he watches
all who live on earth—
he who forms the hearts of all,
who considers everything they do. Psalm 33:13-15 (NIV)

In an earlier post, I wrote this:

Look up and you look back millions of years in time, because the Andromeda Galaxy … which we can see without a telescope, is 2.5 million light years away. The light we see from that Galaxy started travelling towards Earth 2.5 million years ago.

How cool is that?

The stars, solar systems, galaxies, planets, atmosphere, clouds, weather. All amazingly vast and complex – and perfectly tuned for man’s existence on this particular planet.

And with a WORD, God created it all. He spoke, and the universe spun into existence.

The Psalmist declares that this same creator God watches me from heaven. He formed my heart. He thinks about everything I do.

Oh, Lord: Both your transcendence and your immanence seem at times like fairy tales, too amazing and too good to be true. Please transform me by making these realities more real to me. I want to worship you as creator, secure in the love of the God who became man.  Amen.

Today’s Readings: Numbers 21:1-22:41, Psalm 33:6-15, Proverbs 11:24-26, Mark 12:28-44. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts.

For my faithful readers: I am so busy as a working mom that fulfilling this blogging obligation is about all I can do online (other than my job). I hardly have time to check out and read blogs (including yours) or try and promote this one. But I would love if more folks read this and were blessed by it (hopefully they would be). Having said that, if you benefit from what I write, could you recommend this to your friends? Thanks. Holiday

2 thoughts on “Day 72 – The One Spoke the Universe into Existence Watches Over Me

  1. I enjoy these posts and will be glad to recommend it to my friends and family.

    I’m not sure you’ll see a giant uptick in your page views because of my recommendations, but sometimes it’s good to be faithful in the little things and leave the rest up to the Lord. 🙂

    Thanks for pressing on!

    • Thanks, Chaotic. I grow weary and a good word helps. I often feel like Jacob wrestling with the angel: BLESS ME! Not in the way of stuff, but in the way of moving closer to Him – in real, tangible, I am now a different person sorts of ways.

Leave a Reply

