Day 70 – I Need Deliverance!

I couldn’t read Psalm 32: 7 without remembering this “oldie:”

You are my hiding place
You always fill my heart
With songs of deliverance
Whenever I am afraid
I will trust in You

(by Michael Ledner)

The Psalm adds that God will protect the Psalmist from trouble.

And it is God who sings the songs of deliverance.

I like that part, that God surrounds me with songs of deliverance. Then God says:

 I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go;
I will counsel you with my loving eye on you. (vs. 8, NIV)

I like this promise that God will teach me how to proceed and will counsel me with his “loving eye” on me.

I’m still feeling the effects of the flu. I have been sort of laying around the last few days getting not much done while lists of To Dos pile up in my head. I feel guilty and overwhelmed. And sometimes angry that I have to carry more of the responsibility than I’d like to.

I need God to sing some songs of deliverance over me, deliverance from flu and listlessness, and especially guilt and fear (when will I get going and get stuff done?).

I need God to show me how to proceed and counsel me with His love.

Help, Lord, help.

Today’s Readings (3/10/12): Numbers 17:1-18:32, Psalm 32:6-11, Proverbs 11:19-21, Mark 11:20-33. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts.

Leave a Reply

