Day 69 – How to Go from Moaning to Happiness

Psalm 32 is about forgiveness:

Happy is the person
whose sins are forgiven,
whose wrongs are pardoned. (32:1, NCV)

Contrast that with:

When I kept things to myself,
I felt weak deep inside me.
I moaned all day long. (32: 3)

I moaned all day long recently, too. But it was the flu.

Seriously, this begs the question: How does the Psalmist receive forgiveness? How does he go from moaning to happiness?

  • Sacrifice 6 goats?
  • Say penance 12 times?
  • Volunteer in a homeless shelter 24 times a year?

No:

Then I confessed my sins to you
and didn’t hide my guilt.
I said, “I will confess my sins to the Lord,”
and you forgave my guilt.

He simply confessed, then God did the rest.

God doesn’t forgive because he’s being easy on us, either. He forgives because he absorbed the loss for our sin; he paid the price.

He gave his all on the cross, so we owe him nothing.

And we can receive forgiveness and joy simply by admitting our sin.

Today’s Readings (3/9/12): Numbers 15:1-16:50, Psalm 32:1-5, Proverbs 11:16-18, Mark 11:1-19. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts.

Leave a Reply

