Day 65 – My Rock and My Fortress

I went to the Doc today and found that a combo of strep throat and Flu A explain my unbelievably soar throat, cold symptoms and spiking temps.

All that to say, I’m not able to focus very well on the readings today, but I liked this:

Turn your ear to me,
come quickly to my rescue;
be my rock of refuge,
a strong fortress to save me.
Since you are my rock and my fortress,
for the sake of your name lead and guide me. Psalm 31: 2-3 NIV

I like the way the metaphors build, then converge. Jesus addresses our needs (listens, then rescues us). As rock and fortress, He delivers us from all sorts of things, notably sin and temptation.

And because he is a rock and a fortress, He will lead and guide me. I sort of think of a rock and a fortress as places where you stay still and hide, but this rock/fortress leads and guides us. I guess out of harm’s way into a safe place, away from sin into Christ-likeness.

Today’s Readings (3/5/12): Numbers 7:1-8:26,  Psalm 31:1-5, Proverbs 11:4-6, Mark 9:2-29. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts.

Leave a Reply

