Day 52 – Mummy Elixir, Anyone?

I am reading a book (for book club) called Stiff. It’s all about cadavers. Seriously! The last chapter I read discussed all these bizarre treatments for illnesses used in centuries past, some that included human remains, most rank superstitions. You know you want more details, so here’s a quote:

Mummy elixir was a rather striking example of the cure being worse than the complaint. Though it was prescribed for conditions ranging from palsy to vertigo, by far its most common use was a treatment for contusions and preventing coagulation of blood: people were swallowing decayed human cadaver for the treatment of bruises. [A] seventeenth-century druggist… maintained that it was “very beneficial for flatulency” (which, if he meant as a causative agent, I do not doubt). p. 224, Stiff, byMary Roach

It’s amazing how little we humans knew about our bodies and how to take care of them until fairly recently.

Leviticus 13

Therefore, it’s a good thing that God Himself provided the rules in Leviticus that directed the Priests to diagnose and treat skin diseases (some like leprosy). The guidelines protected the sick person and the community – both from physical and from spiritual harm.

Psalm 25

I liked the Psalm today, too:

Turn to me and be gracious to me,
for I am lonely and afflicted.
Relieve the troubles of my heart
and free me from my anguish.
Look on my affliction and my distress
and take away all my sins. vs. 16-18 (NIV)

I observed that the lonely, afflicted, troubled, anguished, and distressed Psalmist does not ask for his circumstances to change…

…but for God to remove his sins. Hm.

Mark 3

I earlier discussed that in Matthew there was this build up of animosity on the part of the Pharisees (mostly) towards Jesus, culminating in the temple big guns (priests, eelders), even the Herodians (politicians), coming on board and plotting to kill Jesus. Interesting that Mark shows that the plotting with the Herodians started early on – even before the twelve are called. I wonder why?

That’s all!

Leviticus 13:1-59, Psalm 25:16-22, Proverbs 10:4, Mark 3:1-19. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts.

Leave a Reply

